Why was Australia’s first missed penalty shot retaken in India hockey semifinal at CWG 2022


0


India lost to Australia 0-3 in a controversial penalty shootout in the women’s Hockey quarterfinal at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games on Friday night.

Ambrosia Malone took the first hit for Australia and missed. Indian women’s hockey striker Lalremsiami then came on for her first hit. But since the clock did not start for Malone’s first attempt, the umpire gave Australia another chance. Malone converted to put the Aussies in front.

“The world is watching. It puts the sport in a bad light if you are making such elementary errors. It was a very close match. Sometimes, some decisions are very close. Though it was bad for us, we will have to move on,” said former Team India hockey captain Viren Rasquinha.

Australia eventually won 3-0 to book a place in the final, where it will take on England. India, meanwhile, will face New Zealand in the bronze medal match on Sunday.





Source link


Like it? Share with your friends!

0
Shafiq

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published.